U of M Home
Gold University of Minnesota M. Skip to main content.University of Minnesota. Home page.  

What's inside.


Department Head

Welcome and Promotions

Awards and Recognitions
Featured Colleagues
W. Loud's Recollections
Boris Levitan
Retirements and Resignations
Academic & Ordway Visitors
Symposiums & Conferences
Notable Activities
Undergrad & Grad Programs
Alumni and Friends
Contact Us
2004 Newsletter
School of Mathematics
Number 11 University of Minnesota Newsletter Spring 2005
The Seventh and Eighth Riviere-Fabes Symposia on Analysis and PDE

The Symposia take place annually to honor the memory of our former colleagues Nestor Riviere and Gene Fabes. The seventh Symposium was held April 23-25, 2004 at the School of Mathematics. The principal speakers and titles of their lectures were: Haim Brezis (Rutgers University), two one hour lectures, on “New estimates for the Laplacian, the div-curl, and related elliptic systems” and “Nonlinear elliptic equations involving measures”, respectively, Srinivasa S.R. Varadhan (Courant Institute, NYU), two one hour lectures on “Homogenization of Random Hamilton-Jacobi-Bellman equations and applications to large Deviations in a quenched Random Environment”, Alexander Kiselev (University of Wisconsin Madison), “Spectrum and dynamics of Schroedinger operators with decaying potentials”, Alexander Nagel (University of Wisconsin Madison), “Regularity of the Kohn-Laplacian in decoupled domains”, Jill C. Pipher (Brown University) “Perturbations of elliptic operators”, and Sijue Wu (University of Michigan Ann Arbor), “Recent Progress in Mathematical Analysis of Vortex Sheets”.

The Conference Organizers were Nicolai Krylov (Chair), Carlos Kenig, Walter Littman, Fernando Reitich and Ofer Zeitouni.

The eighth Riviere-Fabes Symposium was held April 8-10, 2005. The speakers this year were: Vladimir Maz’ya (Ohio State and Linkoeping Universities), two one hour lectures on “Unsolved mysteries of solutions to PDEs near the boundary”, Stephen Wainger (University of Wisconsin Madison), two one hour lectures on “Some discrete operators arising in Harmonic Analysis”, Luca Capogna (University of Arkansas), “Mean curvature flow and the isoperimetric problem in the Heisenberg group”, Svetlana Jitomirskaya (University of California, Irvine), “The ten martini problem”, Natasa Pavlovic (Princeton), “Dyadic models for the equations of fluid motion”, and Yu Yuan (University of Washington), “Global solutions to special Lagrangian equations”. The conference dinner was held April 9 in the Mississippi Room of the Coffman Union.

The Organizing Committee consisted of Naresh Jain, Mark Keel, Carlos Kenig, Walter Littman and Mikhail Safonov.

Yamabe Symosium is a great success
The Second Yamabe Memorial Symposium was held at the School of Mathematics, University of Minnesota, Friday - Sunday, September 17 - 19, 2004. (Sept. 17, incidentally, is Riemann’s birthday.) The Symposium was an enormous success. There were 71 participants, including 52 out-of-town participants and 19 from the University of Minnesota. For the schedule, abstracts, preprints related to the talks and the participant list with email addresses, see www.math.umn.edu/yamabe.
Paul Seidel
Paul Seidel

The theme of the Symposium this time was “Geometry and Physics”.

The speakers, and the titles of their talks, were:

Robert Bryant, Duke University: “Gradient Kähler Ricci Solitons”, Sheldon Katz, University of Illinois: “Donaldson-Thomas and topological string invariants”, Kefeng Liu, U.C.L.A.: “String Duality and Localization”, Duong Phong, Columbia University: “Superstring Perturbation at Two-Loops”, Paul Seidel, University of Chicago: “Khovanov homology and the symplectic geometry of nilpotent slices”, Isadore M. Singer, M.I.T. “The projective Dirac operator and its fractional analytic index”, Karen Uhlenbeck, University of Texas: “Virasoro Actions on Harmonic Maps”, Shing-Tung Yau, Harvard University: “Positive quasi-local mass in general relativity”.

This list of speakers consists of highly distinguished world-class mathematicians. Here are a few of the honors the more senior speakers have received: Karen Uhlenbeck, Isadore Singer and S.-T. Yau have been awarded the National Medal of Science; Yau is a Fields medalist; and Singer is one of the first recipients of the Abel Prize, which is equivalent to a Nobel Prize for mathematicians.

Isadore Singer
Isadore Singer

The Symposium honors Prof. Hidehiko Yamabe (1923—1960), who was an active and highly collaborative mathematician in the School of Mathematics at the University of Minnesota from 1954 until 1960, the year of his untimely death.

The Yamabe Memorial Lecture has been held for a number of years, through support from a fund created by Etsuko Yamabe and through contributions from a number of mathematicians. The lecture has been held in alternating years at the University of Minnesota and at Northwestern University. A recent, generous contribution from an anonymous donor made it possible to expand the Minnesota half of the annual lecture series into a weekend symposium, held every two years.

By Robert Gulliver

The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.